Another Sheryl shares my fundraiser in a great act of kindness!

1

From One Sheryl to Another
447

As many of you know, my family and I have been fundraising.  Currently, we are at about 18% of our goal.  I have had to take a break to some degree.  Because of my situation, I feel it is necessary to reach out whether I am doing it or other members of the family and community are doing it.  There have been donors that don’t know me or my family.  Still others have shared our fundraiser,  and that action  provides a great sense of community when it happens.

Barry wrote to a woman, who shares more than a couple of things with me.  We likely wish we just shared the fun, interesting things, which you will see below in the quoted text she put on her blog after my commentary here.  She also has fibromyalgia, Sjogren’s, and thyroid issues like myself.  In a time of great need, this person “broke the mold” of her usual blogging to share my story.  Not only that, but she donated!!  These are exactly the type of people we need right now–people who will read our family’s story, see its harsh reality, and make a move that requires a “leap of faith.”  I have been down, anxious, and felt like crawling into a hole on many occasions over the years and in recent weeks.  On the day of Sheryl’s blog post, and at the moment her public plea was read to me, I felt that not only did someone understand but took time out when I know she has her own struggles. That is hard not for me not to know.

Autoimmune disease gets overlooked. The average time for diagnosis of Sjogren’s is about 7 years, according to the Sjogren’s Syndrome Foundation448.  I feel the longer it takes, the harder it is to treat an autoimmune disease449 and see positive effects from dietary changes and treatments.  Basically, the sooner these illnesses are caught, the better, probably more rapid road to recovery.  Traditional medicine has largely failed in this arena, particularly in my case.  Even when they tell you that you have “x” illness, it is almost like that language satisfies them. It is like, “Oh we have something to call it.  Have a nice life!”

I want to continue my treatment, but I need help from friends, family , and even strangers.  In this world, it is hard to know which cause to help or whom to trust.  The fact is we have to come together as a world and community though.   It is through love, giving, and sharing, that we feel a sense of hope and connection.

To get back to Sheryl, her name is spelled with a S. Sheryl that is. I will accept that spelling since she accepted mine   🙂  She has a sister named Marcy, and my sister’s name is Maria.  As she points out, the names of our sister’s aren’t identical; however, the first three letters are!  With our similar names, our sister’s names, our conditions, and that we both are blogging on autoimmune disease/chronic illness, it seems we were meant to cross paths.  Take a peek at her blog also. She has put a lot of work into it, and information is power. Take it from someone who had no information for too long, information matters.  Her words are below in quotes:

“I got an email yesterday from someone asking for my help to raise money to pay for medical expenses for his partner. I don’t normally post things like this here, but I had to post this. Her name is Cheryl (okay, so she spells her name wrong), she has Sjogren’s Syndrome, Fibromyalgia450, thyroid issues and a sister named Maria (my sister is Marcy-close enough). Here is his letter, along with the link to the youcaring.com page where you can read more about Cheryl and her ordeals, and donate as well, even if your name isn’t S(C)heryl. Youcaring is a site where individuals and causes can set up a fund-raising page to raise money fee free.”

http://sherylaronson.blogspot.com/2013/04/from-one-sheryl-to-another.html451

Stay tuned for the next blog post, where I will discuss fundraising from a different angle.  Visit https://www.youcaring.com/medical-fundraiser/cheryl-s-medical-fund/40186 to see my story and our family’s goal.  You can also donate here on the blog if that is easier. Thank you and anything helps!

2 thoughts on “Another Sheryl shares my fundraiser in a great act of kindness!

  1. Sheryl Aronson

    Hi Cheryl- I am learning more and more things we have in common. We are both artists (I do colored pencil, papercutting, stained glass and silk painting, with dabblings in other things as the mood strikes), we both have 2 kids (mine are both boys, ages 22 and 28), we both support LGBT causes, and we both blog. Thanks for writing a nice post about me and sending folks my way.

    Reply
    1. Cheryl Post author

      I love this dialogue. It is so great to see someone actively being part of the community. I couldn’t help but blog on you, send people to your wonderful blog, and thank you for your kindness. I loved your post about the two of us. It brightened my day when I saw that you shared about me and donated, and it was truly an act of kindness. I love even more that you mentioned all of those other things. I actually was working on lgbt equality pieces, and I would love to share them with you. I am trying to think of a way to do that. I might put them on my blog. Two kids–that is so great, and now the blogging.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

