I Understand You Don’t Understand

This is a candid writing on chronic illness. I wish I didn’t relate so much to be honest. I agree with the author. People understand illness that ends, they understand death after illness, but not illnesses that persist. In addition, more empathy is felt for certain illnesses than others. People come around near death or after death to help. The time to help is while a person is alive, because while dead, they can’t really benefit. Be proactive in your community. Don’t walk away like many family and friends do. Be different!

Kerry C. Mitchell's Adventures

un18kcm

I’ve pretty much given up on people understanding chronic pain and fatigue and exactly what a chronic illness is.  I’ve come to understand most people just can’t fathom what my life is really like.  I have learned to accept that.

When I got sick, I became severely neurologically compromised from Lyme and FM.  I could not get out of bed due to extreme fatigue.  I couldn’t think clearly, I couldn’t find the words I wanted to say.  I was extremely sensitive to any kind of input of sound.  It overwhelmed me.  It made me feel like my brain was going to explode.  My reaction to prolonged talking, a noise or any kind of input was to sometimes start screaming.  I couldn’t  help it.  It was how I reacted.  My brain was on some kind of overdrive.  I had no control over what it did.

I also cried a lot.  I would be…

View original post 1,534 more words

Leave a Reply

